PlayStation Phone announcement date confirmed

Xperia Play announcement details

The Xperia Play aka PlayStation Phone’s announcement date has been officially set. The phone will be announced on February 13, 2011 at 18:00 GMT.

The phone is to run Android 2.3 Gingerbread with a slide out gaming pad instead of the usual keyboard. It will also support a 5-megapixel camera, microSD card slot, single-core procesor 1GHz and 512 MB RAM.

More information is available about this launch on the Sony Ericsson fanpage on Facebook. You can attend the live announcement from this page as well, once you click the like button the details on how to watch will be revealed.

See Sony Ericsson change the game. Tune in on Sunday and witness a new era in the world of smartphones, right here on Facebook:

USA: Sunday 13th February 10:00PST, 13:00EST
UK: Sunday 13th February 18:00GMT
Europe: Sunday 13th February 19:00CET
India: Sunday 13th February 23:30IST
Japan: Monday 14th February 03:00JST
Sydney: Monday 14th February 05:00EDT

Are you ready to PLAY?

Next Level tab:

Sony has also revealed a new teaser for the Xperia Play which I have embedded below for your enjoyment.

Learn more the author of this post:

I was a Computer and Information Technology student at Purdue University. I have always wanted my own website and have been fascinated with technology my entire life. So here I am, what's next?